Putting the emphasis on you

Victoria School Districts

« Back to Listings

The Greater Victoria Area is divided into three school districts. These form special areas which serve to govern our local public primary and secondary schools.

School District 61: Greater Victoria

Some of the earliest history of schools in western Canada is contained here in SD61.  Encompassing the municipalities of Victoria, Oak Bay, Esquimalt, View Royal and parts of Saanich, this district contains over 50 public schools.

School District 62: Sooke

Including the western municipalities of Greater Victoria and extending out to Port Renfrew, SD61 is home to over 25 public schools.  These server the municipalities of Port Renfrew, Sooke, Colwood, Highlands, Langford and Metchosin.

School District 63: Saanich

District 63 encompasses the northern parts of Victoria and the Saanich Peninsula. Included are parts of the municipalities of Saanich, Central Saanich, North Saanich and Sidney. Along with the Victoria districts, the Saanich district is one of the oldest western school districts, predating the province of British Columbia.


The Fraser Institute publishes and annual report card on the performance of British Columbia’s Elementary Schools. 

Private Schools

The Greater Victoria schools district is also home to numerous private schools which fall outside of the purview of the provincial school districts. These include Montessori schools, Waldorf schools, faith-based schools and alternate schools.  For more information please contact our duty agent via the chat function.

Post Secondary

The Greater Victoria Area offers many post-secondary options for continuing education.  Our region is home to the University of Victoria (UVIC) and Royal Roads University, both world class facilities offering numerous academic programs. Additionally, Camosun College offers a vast number of certificate, diploma, Bachelor degree and continuing education programs.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn ShareThis